Quietly Passing By…

Hiya to whoever is reading this,

IMG_3709

Just imagine that you’re walking down Oxford Street, in central London. All the busy shoppers and tourists bustle past you, a mingling mass of different cultures, faiths and individuals.

Each individual carries their own problems, memories, physical attributes and is likely thinking about different things. Influenced perhaps by their environment, their politics, their family and traditions they were brought up in.

Now imagine each person leaves a different coloured glowing trail behind them, each snaking path showing each step, a constant track of movements leading from their first breath, to their last. As the person comes into contact with another, maybe they accidentally collided on the crowded street, their paths mingle briefly, a small twist, nothing more, nothing less, soon forgotten.

Think about all the people that twist into your path every day. Your family’s or housemates’ paths probably appear or twist into yours the most, whereas maybe an acquaintance, lets say a person in your class or year at school, doesn’t intertwine with you just as much.

Cast your mind back to Oxford Street. All those people, each leading a different life, each burdened with a different load. You will probably only ever see that person once in your entire life, in that small moment where you were walking down the same street of the same city , at the same time.

All the people on Oxford Street at that moment make up only a fraction of the human race on the planet. Just picture all the people you are likely never to meet or pass in the street. It’s almost like a constant flowing stream, with each tiny water particle filling that exact space for only that exact millisecond.

And yet time doesn’t stop in that moment. We all create our own little path, however similar they may seem to the route of others. As each person quietly passes by you realise how fragmentary each glowing trail is in ย the big scheme of things, but by individual choices, they can intertwine with more and more people.

Does this make any sense?

Perhaps.

I guess it’s based round this small thought of mine that I’ve had fixated in my head from being a small child. The idea that in my life, i want to come into contact or connect with as many people as possible. Maybe through my writing, my music or whatever career I choose to follow as an adult, I want to leave the world in a better state than the condition I entered it in. Please believe me when I say this is nothing religious, as an atheist I don’t think that my path is chosen by a spiritual omniscient, omnipotent being, but by myself. I control what opportunities I come across, follow or decline and my actions are completely in my power. When people say that everything happens for a reason, I think that it isn’t as simple as that. A decision that some one ย else made that has affected your life in some way, may seem different in isolation, than it does when your look at the full picture, maybe something that you did influenced that decision, however small.

Because we all unintentionally start various chains of causes. I guess it’s just up to us whether we do it for positive or negative reasons.

 

I hope this post made you think and please share you thoughts in the comments, it would be interesting to see how you interpret this post. ๐Ÿ™‚

Feel free to like, comment and subscribe!

Luv

GeorgieGrl

Xxx

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Quietly Passing By…

Add yours

  1. I’ll be honest – the amount of people that I will NEVER know scares me. The amount of stories I’ll never touch, never hope to brush. It makes me think, that all of my problems are so insignificant compared with the multitude of other lives. Thanks so much for this post, Georgie ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is one of the most fascinating things to me: walking down a busy street and trying to wrap my head around the fact that we’ve all got our own story, and our own, unique experiences.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

