A promise to myself

Hiya to whoever is reading this,

IMG_3562

You can tell yourself to do something. You can write list after list about it, schedule it into every calendar and planner you own and make endless things to motivate yourself. But unless you actually force yourself into a water-tight promise, excuses always find their way in.

This is my previous situation with trying make my lifestyle better. Become healthier, stronger and increase my stamina. I’ve got so many folders on my computer about it, all filled with plans, timetables, food ideas and workouts, yet when it comes to waking up early and getting a workout done; despite my best intentions I make a stupid excuse. These ridiculous excuses include; “I need more sleep so I’m better in my maths class”, “I’m more likely to eat junk if I’m tired” or even “Meh, I’ll do it tomorrow”.

Then I feel rubbish. I hate myself for giving up and I go through the same cycle again of motivation, endless planning, giving up and frustration.

Except this time, I’ve had enough of it.

This time, I’ve made a specific promise to myself. There’s no way I’m letting myself get away with this anymore. The rules I’ve set myself are as follows;

  • I’ve got to workout whenever I’ve scheduled to
  • Even if I can’t workout for long, I’ll do as much as I can
  • Don’t skip reps because I’m tired
  • Finish each workout that I set out to do
  • Know that progress takes time
  • Enjoy as much as I can
  • Stop judging myself for the little things
  • Accept that I’m going to slip at one point and that it’s my responsibility to get over it
  • Remember that the end goal is to be healthier, not to look a certain way

I know I can do this. Maybe this sort of wake-up call was what I needed, and now it’s my small personal mission to get somewhere with this. Fingers crossed I’ve finally managed to get my act together and we’ll see how it goes from here.

What’s your goal that you’re working towards?

If any of you guys can relate to this then please comment below, it would be good to know that I’m not alone. I wish you luck with your little missions and hope we can find a way of motivating ourselves,

Because I know I’ll see you at the finish line soon πŸ™‚

Feel free to like, comment and subscribe!

Luv

GeorgieGrl

Xxx

16 thoughts on “A promise to myself

  1. Just remember that it’s very easy to fall into bad habits, working out etc. Can really become addicting and its potentially dangerous, so just be careful. You are beautiful the way you are, but if working out/ being healthier makes you happy, go for it! That’s absolutely amazing, you just have to be careful ❀✨

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great! I’d like to study general stuff (school subjects), Japanese, and Korean at least 1 hour each language and 3 hours for the rest. I also want to practice more trombone and piano.
    Good luck in maintaining a healthy life. ❀ I'm sure you'll succeed!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this post because of how relatable it is. I often find myself planning out my days to account for workouts, school work, and meal times only to end up using the excuse “I’ll do it tomorrow”. Its horrible because then I’m just wasting time and missing opportunities due my own laziness and stupid excuses!
    I also like how your list describes what you’re going to follow but doesn’t just include eating healthy or working out more, it talks about accepting that you may slip up and that it won’t be the end of the world if you do, that you shouldn’t judge yourself on little mistakes or things that you can’t change, and that progress itself takes time. I think those are important to have on the list because they are things that will help make our mindset more realistic and forgiving. Sometimes I find when I make a list or plan of things I want to do, I find I am very hard on myself, so to factor in those ideas it helps to make sure that we are not pushing ourselves toward something that seem unattainable or unrealistic.
    You have a very honest voice and it helps me to feel like I am talking to a friend instead of reading a list of things that I should probably do aha! I wish you luck on following your list and I hope that I can follow mine!

    Like

Leave a Reply

