One year later…

Hiya to whoever is reading this,

IMG_0475.jpg

The 19th of July 2015.

One phone call changed everything, sent my family reeling in spirals. The pain each of us felt was the only similarity as the grief messed with each of us in different ways. We had been expecting this news for a while so logically it should not have been a shock.

But where’s the instruction manual for life that comes with losing your grandad.

And I know people lose family members all the time, but that doesn’t make it any less painful, personal or such a stark reality. Any single individual reacts differently to grief, so one thing that comforts one person may not bring solace to someone else.

But that’s not what this post is about.

I wanted this post to be a way I can share everything that I’ve achieved, how I’ve changed as a person and a reminder that what might seem to be an endless dark tunnel, actually has a tiny glimmer of light at the end of it and it’s up to you whether you fight to make that tiny beam stronger and more powerful, or let the darkness overwhelm you.

One of the first changes came in the form of a large chop. About a week after grandad died, I had a HUGE haircut. Previously, my hair was so long it stretched all the way down to my lower back, a visit to the hairdressers with my best friend changed that rather quickly! They cut 11 inches off my hair and I donated the long locks to the Princess Trust (an amazing charity who use donations of human hair to make high quality wigs for children who have lost their hair through cancer therapy).

Then, in August, I started this blog. My ideas for GeorgieGrl had been floating around my head for a while but it finally felt like the right time to share those ideas with the world. Things started VERY slowly and it wasn’t until late November that I started to get noticed but that’s a whole other story for another day.

When school started, it was difficult to cope. Things just began to feel like an uphill struggle with no clear path, so I decided to find a new hobby, something I could push myself to new lengths with, and I eventually ended up choosing rowing.

Rowing allowed me to find a positive outlet for all of this negative stuff I was feeling. I could see myself improving and after getting a really good result in my team tryout, one cold, dark autumn/winter evening, I was boosted forward into a crazy whirlwind of training sessions, rowing on the Thames, wet socks, waterlogged wellies and a group of friends that I wouldn’t change for the world. Rowing also helped me to find my love for fitness and has helped me to develop a much healthier lifestyle, that I’m proud to say still exists now.

Then came the grade 5 music theory. As a musician, you can’t do any practical ABRSM grade higher than grade 5, unless you’ve passed grade 5 music theory. Needless to say, many brutal arguments, tears and panics later, along with the amazing help of one of my teachers, I passed with a good mark and was allowed to get my ears pierced!!!

Over the course of the year, I took part in many unusual opportunities, such as a Shakespeare festival with loads of my friends, and pushed myself to heights in other areas I previously didn’t know I could do.

After an awesome birthday weekend, a trip to hospital a month later, fairly stressful revision and VERY stressful exams, things seemed to be getting better. I did really well in 99% of my exams and got given an achievement award thing, Β along with 4 other people in my year,from my school. Then it was off to France! I had such a good time and despite my worries about it, it all turned out to be ok =)

So here I am now, a week into my summer holidays and loving every moment. I’m going on holiday with my parents soon so brace yourselves for endless photos and frequent blog posts! =)

You guys have also helped me through this. Knowing that you guys have my back gives me confidence to take risks and make the most of every opportunity I’m given. I love being able to share parts of my life and the photos I take with you guys and I’m glad you enjoy my posts =)

Feel free to like, comment, reblog and subscribe!

Luv

GeorgieGrl

xxx

40 thoughts on “One year later…

Add yours

  1. You are so wonderful, because you’ve dealt with your grief and you’re still strong. I don’t say this very often, but you’re a true inspiration to me, because you KNOW how far you’ve got. Be proud of yourself xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much =)
      It has been such a hard year and reading your comment has literally made my heart melt. Blogging has given me something to work towards and I love reading your blog posts. Knowing that you guys read my posts gives me something to hold on to when I feel like i’m in pieces.
      Thanks again
      Gx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. it’s great that you’re acknowledging your struggles and how you’ve fought them because you are so strong, i know how hard it is because the world doesn’t stop and it’s hard to move on with everything. i’m so glad you’ve found blogging helpful and hopefully it will continue to be a good thing for you πŸ™‚ xx

    Liked by 1 person

      1. and it’s okay to have those days and like you said it’s great that you have found ways to manage it and you’ve adjusted to it. something many can learn from πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m so sorry for you ecuas eof your granddad!! Hope you’ll be fne soon:) And Overall it Sound like a really great year,you achieved a lot of amazing things, and I hope you’ll have a great Holiday with your paremts! Can’t wait to see the photos πŸ™‚ ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Its amazing what you’ve done- learning to cope with such a huge loss (I know how it feels, I lost my grandad last December). Starting this blog has surely been an awesome decision πŸ™‚ and I’m glad you’ve had an outlet for all your emotions.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 😊
      I’m so sorry for your loss. My best advice would be to turn the negatives into positives; even though that might feel impossible, just by changing a few things, it makes a huge difference πŸ˜„

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Poor you! You must have been really close to your grandpa before he passed away, he was probably a great man. But remember to move on with your life and not to dwell on your losses.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

