Ugh, just why…

Hiya to whoever is reading this,

sad girl blog.jpg(not me)

With this blog, i kinda don’t share many of my feelings a lot, mostly because people i know offline read it and can get the wrong end of the stick. But this is something that some of you guys said was a problem for you too and it is a pretty big issue for a lot of people, especially due to social media.

If you haven’t guessed yet, the subject is body image. It is something i’ve struggled with quite a lot in the past 6 months, and i’m still struggling with it now. But the worst thing is that it’s all in your head, and sometimes completely out of control due to sucky chemicals (hormones, better watch your back, i’m coming for ya) that seem set on making everything difficult.

What some people don’t “get” about it is that it can hit at any time, you can get some really good days where you feel confident, beautiful and ready to take the world by storm, and other days where you don’t want to leave the house and wanna hide in a dark room on your own away from everyone else. It always makes me laugh when people who know i’ve struggled with it before, see me feeling confident and happy and say “but i thought you felt uncomfortable about the way you look”, and i totally understand what they mean, but they don’t seem to understand what it is.

waves hitting the rocks blog.jpg

I guess you could think of it like the tide, really high and strong at some points, but still weak and small, just lapping at the shore at other times.

But i swear the mirror has it in for me. Or maybe it’s just my head playing tricks, but whenever i look in the mirror, i seem to see a different Georgie on the other side. If i feel happy or just normal, i seem myself pretty much as i want to (fairly slim, slightly toned, etc.) but if i’m having a bad day or feel low, i can’t find anything good and only see bad things, basically feeling like an overweight marshmallow and just generally feel like i suck at life.

body image mirror blog

Ok, fine. Maybe it is just chemical and a personal thing, but then why is it such a problem? Probably one of the largest factors is social media and advertising, as every day you are constantly BOMBARDED with adverts or celebrities with the “perfect figure”, “on-fleek eyebrows” and the idea that you have to wear loads of make-up  and be really toned to be deemed beautiful or sexy (it really depends on the look you’re going for)

Just think back to the last time you saw a perfume advert, a celeb’s social media or model campaign for a shop. I’m 99.92% certain it had an overly made up, thin, curvy model posing in some kind of revealing clothing, with no annoying cyclops pimples or red blemishes. They probably also have abs, but the kind of abs that people like me can only dream of.  This is because they have teams of make-up pro’s around them with awesome photo-shoppers. If you want proof of this, type into google “models before and after photoshop” and you will see how much images that we are constantly shown, are edited and changed, to a point of no similarity between the original picture and the end product.

model before and after 1 blogmodel before and after 2 blog

I think it’s so stupid how they (big companies) try and make us believe in something so fake and unnatural and make us feel bad about ourselves because of it.

If you guys want me to make this a series, or write a post on how to cope with this sort of thing then comment below, as i know how hard it can be and i’m always looking for ways to make it better and change my mind about myself.

Feel free to like, comment and subscribe! Please also check out the  collab blog I recently set up called This&That if you get time =)

Luv

GeorgieGrl

xxx

96 thoughts on “Ugh, just why…

Add yours

  1. I have struggled with body image a lot in the past but I’m becoming more comfortable with the way I look. As long as you are healthy, that’s all that matters. You are beautiful and you are you. The media is stupid so why comply with it? Great post Georgie x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I quite like how I look when I look in the mirror some days, but other days when I look in the mirror, I just don’t. I don’t know what it is, maybe it’s just a “teen” thing but it affects me

    Liked by 3 people

  3. I have struggled with this so much and I still do, changing in the P.E locker room. It hurts inside and When I look in the mirror I have the same problem except it’s actually much more negative all the time. Companies want to make you believe in the fakeness so that girls(or boys) can feel bad about themselves and buy makeup to conceal their flaws instead of using it like an art. And it’s not just looking and seeing myself different, I know it’s the truth. Thats the sad part.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. That’s the thing. It’s not the truth. Whatever you see in the mirror is sometimes not the case and when it hurts you have to push through. I’m gonna do a post on how to cope with it soon and if you still feel down, call someone (a trusted friend, parent or childline)
      Stay strong and you can keep going
      Luv
      GeorgieGrl

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ikr 🙂 The message really needs to be spread to overcome all the negative crap. I mean seriously people’s health is in danger. No one should feel bad about themselves

        Liked by 1 person

  4. OMG! I can so relate to this. All the social media’s are actually promoting this kinda crap and it totally sucks! I mean even if somebody is happy with themselves,others’ judgments make your “happiness” just go downhill

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I used to hate the way I look, not really my weigh; more the way that I look. I would obsess over the way my hair looked, if my eyebrows looked okay, if my breath smelt. It got to the point where I broke down crying and I decided from then on I won’t be controlled by my appearance and I would pick out things that I like about myself. I sometimes still hate the way I look but it’s a part of growing up for most girls.
    Thankyou for this post x

    Liked by 2 people

  6. I can relate to this so much right now! One night I was lying in bed and I thought “you are gorgeous and amazing” and the next morning I could barely look at myself. But as you say, its mainly just stupid hormones :/ Hope you feel better soon! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I think that it’s all about “You do you.” Some people use the “fakeness” that the media incorporates to propel themselves forward, while some (actually most) people just feel worse about themselves. I think it’s horrible that they’re making so many people feel so negative through just a picture, and that they KNOW what they’re doing, but don’t care. All in all, it just gives them more publicity right? And don’t get me started on the hypocrisy of the human media. X_X

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Its three image in your head that needs convincing. You are beautiful just believe it and so liking at the stupid magazines. Besides,letting you into secret – people (not just guys, although they do too) like real. There is so much fake now, so real is sexy. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I have a problem with the way I look, mainly because people pick out little flaws, to the point that even now I will obsess over these things still. Loads of people tell me I am seriously pretty, but I can’t accept it. I look at myself, and just see something horrible. I’ve really been effected by what others thought. Great post.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You are an amazing blogger, and I don’t like to lie so you know it’s true. You are an inspiring person and you bring happiness to a lot of people with what you write. Why don’t you try some gentle stretches/exercises as exercise releases the same positive endorphins (chemicals) in your brain that are released when you eat sugar and carbs. Eating junk food to get happy will not help as you will feel worse, try a little bit of exercise and it will help 😄

        Liked by 1 person

    1. If you’re anorexic, you need to get help (you probably have already) you could try writing a meal plan for each day that you have to stick to. It will also help you practise cooking, and it means you are eating the right thing even if you feel you don’t want to eat

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, thankfully I had lovely people to turn to and was able to overcome the huge hurdle of body image. But now I know how it feels to go through that and what it means to appreciate who I am.

        Liked by 1 person

  10. This is a very real and relatable post, especially for us females. I think a series around this would be perfect 💕I hate to say this but, as far as I can tell, it’s not something you grow out of. Every female has what seems to be that switch where we can go from extreme self-love to that radical self-hate. It’s just about staying positive and weathering the storm. And remember, be as nice to the girl in the mirror as you are to the other girls you meet. How many of us find so many positives in other females and instantly become envious? We need to train ourselves to look at the mirror in that very same light.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I’m naturally really quite skinny, but even I struggle with my body image a lot. It’s such a pain trying to find jeans that will fit, or a top that doesn’t make me look super stick-like. I’m also really quite tall, although I still buy petite clothes to fit into them!! Some people have said I look a little like a stick insect. It’s not great to have your wrists constantly measured by other people’s hands, and my more average friends tend to bring themselves down over the fact that I’m so skinny, which I hate! So long as we are all healthy, we should be allowed to be whatever weight, height and size we want!! Be comfortable in your own body & you’ll be beautiful xx

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I personally don’t wear makeup as it would give me spots, I do a lot of sports training, take too much time and make me l8. It is so important to make yourself feel happy and confident without needing to hide behind makeup (not saying that you are) and the media doesn’t help with that 😄

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Wow this is one of the most honest and truthful blog post I’ve ever read. It’s so good to be honest with your readers, even though I’m new to blogging, I hope everyone will read this and then we can come together as a community online and get through these kind of things together. Thank you so much for writing this blog post, it was amazing!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah i totally understand. That’s why i decided to keep my blog anonymous so i could be truthful and honest without having to sound great.

        Liked by 1 person

  12. I loved how you poured your heart out in this post! Personally, I think that you should NOT be thinking about what others will think. You should not have inferiority complex. But for me, it’s like look good,feel good. Look comfortable,feel comfortable. So you should be doing what YOU wanna do. Best post I have ever read from a teenager.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Body image is really a difficult thing to come to terms with, especially as teenagers. I think it’s linked to self-esteem and recently in English we had to do speeches and I did mine based on self-esteem, which included body image. I hope those days of you feeling negative start to come down a lot, because you’re amazing 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  14. This was really nicely written. A series on this type of thing would be so nice, there are tons of people out there (including myself) who struggle with loving their bodies and I feel like a series of just encouraging words or something would be great. I completely understand what you’re saying here too, some days I wake up and look in the mirror and think “wow, I’m beautiful and no one can tell me otherwise.” But some days I walk around school thinking “dang, she looks like a model and I look like a deformed pumpkin that got rejected from the patch.” It’s just hard to love my body every single day, especially when my friends and family are skinny and curvy.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Any post encouraging positive body image is aways welcome. We can never have enough of it, especially when you are trying to fight the image the fashion and TV industry is selling. Beautifully written piece.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

