The World’s Best Ginger Biscuits!

Hiya to whoever is reading this,

Over the summer I had a bit of a baking craze going on (I made sure I didn’t eat them all otherwise I’d be the size of 3 double decker buses!) and one of my favourite recipes was for the most delicious ginger biscuits on the planet. Now me being the idiot I am, I forgot to take a picture of the biscuits last time I made them so next time I whip up a batch I’ll post a pic in the comments of this blog. I slightly adapted this recipe so feel free to experiment with different flavours (cinnamon any one?). And remember even the best chefs eat the majority of the dough before it goes in the oven ; ) !!!

Some of the best things about these biscuits is that they take about 3 weeks to go stale and they develop a very very gooey and fudge like texture when stored in an airtight container overnight. You can cut the biscuits whatever size you like them, but I found that to get a good amount and a medium size, use an overturned egg cup to cut the dough as they expand hugely whilst in the oven!

Ingredients:

350g plain flour (and extra for rolling pin + board)

1 teaspoon of bicarbonate of soda

2 teaspoons of ground ginger

115g of butter (and extra to stick the greaseproof paper to the trays)

175g of brown sugar

4 tablespoons of golden syrup

1 average egg, beaten

Before you start:

Preheat the oven to 190 degrees C (375 degrees farenheight/Gas 5)

Line 3 baking trays with greaseproof paper/ baking parchment.

  1. Place the flour, bicarbonate of soda and the ground ginger into a bowl. Add the butter and use your fingers to rub it in to the flour until it looks like breadcrumbs.
  2.  Stir in the sugar. Add the syrup and beaten egg and mix to form a smooth dough, using your hands to bring the mixture together and knead it lightly.
  3.  If at this point the mixture is a bit sticky, cut it in half and wrap each half in cling film and put them in the fridge for 5-10 mins (or as long as you can bear to wait!)
  4.  Roll one of the halves out on a well floured surface using a floured rolling pin and cover the dough in flour for the easiest rolling. Cut out the dough using cutters or an egg cup like me and put them on the lined trays. Repeat with the other half of the dough.
  5. Bake the biscuits for 10-12 minutes but I would recommend setting the timer for 8mins and checking every minute until they are reasonably firm and a darkish golden brown. Let them cool for 5mins on the trays and then transfer them onto a wire cooling rack so they don’t get soggy bottoms.
  6. When cool, offer them politely to your family and friends then eat the rest or you could try my less piggy approach and store them in an airtight container overnight to let them go super fudgy.

Thanks for reading and I hope you enjoy making and eating them as much and my family, my friends and I did. If you actually make these then please post a pic in the comments as I would love to see how they worked out for other people! Feel free to like, comment and follow me.

Luv

GeorgieGrl

17 thoughts on “The World’s Best Ginger Biscuits!

Leave a Reply

